choose language

CLEANDANUBE

swimming for a pure and plastic-free river.
become a partner or sponsor

In summer 2021 Andreas Fath is swimming the Danube.

 

From the Black Forest to the Black Sea.

 

For a clean river free of plastic.

 

CLEANDANUBE

swimming for a pure and plastic-free river.
become a partner or sponsor

In summer 2021 Andreas Fath is swimming the Danube.

From the Black Forest to the Black Sea.

For a clean river free of plastic.

One challenge –

many projects

Researchers have found more plastics in the Danube than fish larvae. More than 4 tons of plastics reach the Black Sea from the Danube. Every single day.

We are committed to a clean river rich in life and biodiversity. For people and nature.

Andreas Fath

Through his activities in the Rhine and Tennessee River, Andreas Fath is a passionate swimmer who has made a name for himself internationally and in numerous TV programs as the “Swimming Professor”.

The chemist is currently researching microplastics and training for his big swim in summer 2021.

kilometers

weeks

goal

Once again, I am impressed by Professor Fath’s dedication. I think it’s great how he manages to draw people’s attention to the immense importance of clean water. Such approaches are important to educate the world about sustainable development, especially to reach people who don’t usually don’t care about this.
Franz Untersteller

Minister for Environment, Climate and Energy in Baden-Württemberg, Germany

project moduls

The focus of the project is on creating public awareness of the pollution in the Danube and creating an appreciation for a natural sphere brimming with life and biodiversity. The spectacular achievement of swimming the world’s most international river for two months is the central theme that runs through the individual modules of the project and from whose public impact they benefit.

CAMPAIGN

Full attention for a clean Danube.

More plastic than fish. 4 tons of plastic flow from the Danube into the Black Sea – every single day. Our campaign follows Andreas Fath on his journey – we are taking a high-profile stand for a nature without plastic waste, micro-plastics or polluted water.

EDUCATION

A touring knowledge workshop

Making microplastics tangible, showing ways to clean up rivers – with our tried-and-tested interactive stations and learning materials, we follow Andreas Fath on his way down the Danube. Together with our partners, we offer additional environmental education opportunities on site.

RESEARCH

Water sampling and analysis. Every single day.

Microplastics, industrial chemicals, pharmaceuticals, nitrate, phosphate, COD (chemical oxygen demand) and artificial sweeteners – with our mobile laboratory and in cooperation with international research institutions, we sample and analyze the entire course of the Danube.

FILM

An adventure for the screen.

Pictures are worth a thousand words. A professionally produced Impact Film will document Andreas Fath’s journey in the Danube and convey the issue of water pollution. In this way, our concern will reach so many more people.
Once again, I am impressed by Professor Fath’s dedication. I think it’s great how he manages to draw people’s attention to the immense importance of clean water. Such approaches are important to educate the world about sustainable development, especially to reach people who don’t usually don’t care about this.
Franz Untersteller

Minister for Environment, Climate and Energy in Baden-Württemberg, Germany

project partners

The project is implemented by AWP in cooperation with Andreas Fath, his team and Furtwangen University.

 

The AWP – association for wildlife protection e.V. is a nonprofit organization based in Freiburg, Germany. Since 2011, AWP has been supporting and implementing species protection , nature conversation and educational projects worldwide. In recent years, Cameroon and the Danube region have become our focus. Our projects are financed through donations and grants.

choose language

CLEANDANUBE

swimming for a pure and plastic-free river.
Partner oder Sponsor werden

Im Sommer 2021 durchschwimmt Andreas Fath die Donau.

 

Vom Schwarzwald bis zum Schwarzen Meer.

 

Für einen sauberen Fluss ohne Plastik.

 

CLEANDANUBE

swimming for a pure and plastic-free river.
Partner oder Sponsor werden

Im Sommer 2021 durchschwimmt Andreas Fath die Donau.

 

Vom Schwarzwald bis zum Schwarzen Meer.

 

Für einen sauberen Fluss ohne Plastik.

 

Eine Herausforderung –

viele Projekte

Forscher haben in der Donau mehr Plastikteile als Fischlarven gefunden. Über 4 Tonnen Plastik gelangen aus der Donau ins Schwarze Meer. Jeden Tag. 

Wir setzen uns für einen sauberen Fluss voller Leben und Artenvielfalt ein. Für Mensch und Natur.

Andreas Fath

Andreas Fath ist passionierter Schwimmer und hat durch seine Aktivitäten im Rhein und im Tennessee River bereits international und in zahlreichen TV-Beiträgen als “Schwimmender Professor” von sich reden gemacht.

Aktuell forscht der Chemiker zu Mikroplastik und trainiert parallel für das große Schwimmen im Sommer 2021.

Kilometer

Wochen

Ziel

Einmal mehr beeindruckt mich das Engagement von Herrn Prof. Fath. Ich finde es großartig, wie es ihm gelingt, auf die große Bedeutung sauberer Fließgewässer hinzuweisen. Solche Ansätze sind wichtig für die Bildung für nachhaltige Entwicklung. Insbesondere um auch Menschen zu erreichen, die sich in der Regel nicht mit dem Thema beschäftigen.

Franz Untersteller

Minister für Umwelt, Klima und Energiewirtschaft in Baden-Württemberg

Die Projektteile 

Das transnationale Projekt „cleandanube“ vermittelt der Bevölkerung entlang der Donau Kompetenz zu umweltgerechtem Handeln für eine einzigartige Flusslandschaft, deren Verschmutzung durch Makro- und Mikroplastik weder ausreichend wahrgenommen noch wirksam verhindert wird.

Durch ineinandergreifende Maßnahmen leistet das Projekt einen Beitrag zum Gewässerschutz. Im Fokus steht die Verringerung der Wasserverschmutzung, die Vermeidung von Plastikmüll, das Verständnis von Mikroplastik sowie die Wertschätzung des Naturraums Donau in der Bevölkerung.

Die aufsehenerregende Leistung von Andreas Fath, 2 Monate den internationalsten Fluss der Erde zu schwimmen, stellt dabei den roten Faden dar, den die einzelnen Projektteile begleiten und von dessen öffentlicher Wirkung sie profitieren.

KAMPAGNE

Volle Aufmerksamkeit für eine saubere Donau

Mehr Plastik als Fisch. 4 Tonnen Plastik gelangen aus der Donau ins Schwarze Meer – und das jeden Tag. Unsere Kampagne begleitet Andreas Fath auf seiner Reise – wir setzen uns öffentlichkeitswirksam für eine Natur ohne Plastikmüll, Mikroplastik und verschmutztes Wasser ein.

BILDUNG

Eine fahrende Wissenswerkstatt

Mikroplastik erfahrbar machen, Wege zu sauberen Flüssen aufzeigen – mit unseren erprobten Mitmach-Stationen und unseren Materialien folgen wir Andreas Fath auf seinem Weg durch die Donau. Mit unseren Partnern bieten wir vor Ort zusätzlich modularisierte Bildungseinheiten an.

FORSCHUNG

Wasserproben und Analysen. Jeden Tag.

Mikroplastik, Industriechemikalien, Medikamente, Nitrat, Phosphat, CSB und Süßstoffe – mit unserem fahrenden Labor und in Zusammenarbeit mit internationalen Forschungseinrichtungen beproben und analysieren wir den gesamten Verlauf der Donau.

FILM

Ein Abenteuer für die Leinwand.

Bilder sagen mehr als tausend Worte. Ein professionell erstellter Impact Film dokumentiert Andreas Faths Reise in der Donau und vermittelt dabei die Problematik der Wasserverschmutzung. Damit unser Anliegen noch viel mehr Menschen erreicht.

 

Einmal mehr beeindruckt mich das Engagement von Herrn Prof. Fath. Ich finde es großartig, wie es ihm gelingt, auf die große Bedeutung sauberer Fließgewässer hinzuweisen. Solche Ansätze sind wichtig für die Bildung für nachhaltige Entwicklung. Insbesondere um auch Menschen zu erreichen, die sich in der Regel nicht mit dem Thema beschäftigen.

Franz Untersteller

Minister für Umwelt, Klima und Energiewirtschaft in Baden-Württemberg

Die Projektpartner

Umgesetzt wird das Projekt von der AWP in Zusammenarbeit mit Andreas Fath, seinem Team und der Hochschule Furtwangen.

 

Die AWP – association for wildlife protection e.V. ist ein gemeinnütziger Verein mit Sitz in Freiburg im Breisgau. Seit 2011 unterstützt und realisiert die AWP weltweit Artenschutz-, Naturschutz- und Bildungsprojekte, seit 2017 initiieren wir erfolgreich Umweltbildungsprojekte im Donauraum und haben im Rahmen ihrer Umsetzung ein umfassendes und belastbares Netzwerk mit NGOs vor Ort aufgebaut.

Wir finanzieren unsere Projekte durch Spenden und Fördermittel.